PDA

View Full Version : Which Lee 6 cavity mold for .45

MSG
12-10-2012, 11:43 PM
I'm getting everything together to start casting for my .45 1911 and now I'm needing to buy a mold. The molds that I'm considering are the Lee 6 cavity TL 230 Tc and the Lee 6 Cavity TL 200 SW. Any thoughts or preferences on these two molds or maybe another Lee 6 banger? I'm totally new to this so I've been reading as much as I can and appreciate all the info on this forum.

skeet1
12-10-2012, 11:54 PM
My personal favorite is the Lee clone of the H&G 68, the 200 gr. with the regular lube groove. This bullet loads and shoots beautifully. I use a small charge of Unique in my 1911 and they feed flawlessly.

Ken

DrCaveman
12-11-2012, 01:33 AM
I faced the same dilemma a while ago, and went with the TL 230 RN for its 'tried and true' value in 45 acp. Has worked great for me though I think a standard lube groove for 230 gr RN is much more traditional. I don't think the lee 228 qualifies for this, due to an unusual ogive shape. Don't own it so I could be wrong but it certainly does have a different profile than my TL 230 RN.

I also purchased the lee h&g 68 copy, which by necessity is also standard lube groove. Very happy with it, and have heard less good things about the TL 200 swc. You may have good luck, at worst you are out $20 or $40 if you jump right into the 6 cav.

Might I suggest buying your proposed moulds in 2 cav first, then if you like the boolit and can get it to shoot well, buy the 6? You will still be less invested than a comparable shaped mould from any other mfgr and will have a 2 cav to play around with... Make it into a hollow point... Etc

Based on a recent experience, I would also highly recommend lee-menting. Pretty easy, really, and it sharpens up the castings considerably & boolits drop better. Can barely identify the seam now. I loafed and put this treatment on the back burner for way too long... Just do it!

saint_iverson
12-11-2012, 09:12 AM