PDA

View Full Version : Stop ring design

ShooterOnTheLine
12-10-2012, 04:03 PM
What is the advantage or disadvantage of having a stop ring designed into a rifle round?

MtGun44
12-10-2012, 10:44 PM
OK, I'll bite. I've been reloading for 45 years, and I haven't heard of a "stop ring designed into
a rifle round". What exactly are you talking about? Do you have a picture? I think there must
be another term for what you are talking about. Rim? Belt? Shoulder? Cannelure? Not sure
what you mean.

Bill

hithard
12-10-2012, 10:50 PM
are you talking about a small section of the boolit that could would be nothing more than a "band" around the boolit of sized a few thousands larger than the nominal boolit diameter. This would fit inside the neck portion of the chamber, but large enough that it would not fit inside the case neck. You would just seat the boolit to the bottom of this band.

If so, you would have to either have a longer neck in the chamber area, or cut your necks shorter to allow for room of this "band".

or am I way off.

HARRYMPOPE
12-10-2012, 10:55 PM
I have the 311259 I also had Erik Ohlen plain base a 311291 and put a .318 stop ring on it fora 30-06 but it was a failure.The German stop ring bullet for the 8.15 x 46 shoots well for a buddy but the throat is designed for that bullet.

here is the info on it i did a couple years back.-

http://www.castbulletassoc.org/forum/view_topic.php?id=6486&forum_id=10&highlight=stop+ring

Somebody else needs to play more with this idea.No- we dont need a groups buy for one. GRIN

MtGun44
12-11-2012, 02:02 AM
Can't access the link. Still not sure what the OP means.

Bill

MtGun44
12-11-2012, 02:02 AM
Can't access the link.

Bill

uscra112
12-11-2012, 02:38 AM
Tried the link - it wants me to be a logged-in member of the Cast Bullet Association. Can't be bothered tonight.

HARRYMPOPE
12-11-2012, 02:52 AM
You can log in as a guest

I'll Make Mine
12-11-2012, 08:06 AM