PDA

View Full Version : Zinc contamination

slickinks
12-06-2012, 09:17 PM
Hello to all on the boards. I'm new to casting, but so far I've got around 25-30 pounds of wheel weights melted into ignots. I hear a lot about how zinc contamination can mess up the lead for filling out the mold, but how can I tell if this is happening when I pour my molds? Since I didn't have a thermometer when I melted the weights down into ignots, I'm concerned about it. Won't lead still run out over the sprue opening as gravity causes the mold to fill up regardless if there is zinc contamination? How does the mold 'not fill out' if there is zinc present in the alloy?

Thanks for all replies,

Slick

Aegis
12-06-2012, 09:29 PM
The boolits look like they are wrinkled, like the mold or lead is to cool. Turned up the heat and they are still wrinkled. Usually the melt will change colors. I'm thinking it had a light blue tint.

12-06-2012, 09:39 PM
First of all, you'd definitely know if, during the smelting process, you had any zinc contamination, as it turns the melt to an oatmeal consistancy.

One common example of poor mould fillout is ill-defined drive bands. Yes, the mould fills and runs over onto the top of the sprue cutter, but since the mould wasn't up to it's optimum casting temperature, the alloy cooled before it was able to completely fill the cavity. Wrinkled boolits is another symptom of a not-hot-enough mould.

Mould temperature is what it all about, not alloy temperature.

slickinks
12-07-2012, 12:54 AM
First of all, you'd definitely know if, during the smelting process, you had any zinc contamination, as it turns the melt to an oatmeal consistancy.