PDA

View Full Version : trouble casting .22 boolits

Patrick L
12-02-2012, 11:34 PM
Guys,

i think I need a little advice. I finally took the plunge and began casting for my AR. I just received a beautiful Mihec brass 22 NATO 4 cavity mold. It is a work of art. I am a veteran caster, but have never cast a .22 boolit before.

Anyhow, I was visually inspecting my first casts, and I notice my boolits seem "bent". I paid attention during my second casting session and looked at the bases in the mold before I opened the blocks. The boolit bases are away from one side of the cavity and shmooshed tight against the other. The boolits are tight against the side the sprue cutter swings toward, and away form the side it comes from. I think the impact of whacking the sprue cutter is forcing the boolit bases to one side. I think the main problem is that on a .22 the sprue hole is almost as big as the whole base, unlike a .38 or .45, or even a .30 for that matter.

Is this going to be an issue? I'm sure sizing and gas check installation will true things up, but I always believed you didn't want to rely on a sizer die to fix defects that shouldn't be there in the first place.

Your thoughts?

Ben
12-02-2012, 11:43 PM
You may be trying to open the sprue plate too early ?

HARRYMPOPE
12-03-2012, 01:13 AM
If the sprue hole is that large it is an error in the sprue design.I have a .225415 Lyman that was like yours and replaced it with cutter from another mold that had smaller holes and the bullets bases were improved.Open the mold with a thick leather glove(with a slight downward force) and you also can solve this a bit.Just be careful and pay attention to your glove wear.

Mark85304
12-03-2012, 01:49 AM