PDA

View Full Version : full choke slugs

usmc0331
11-27-2012, 08:36 PM
I have a single shot 12 ga full choke 24 in its not as accurate with factory slugs as I would like. Never reloaded for shotgun before but I'm starting. Can someone give me a good diameter of slug to try for this gun. As far as I can tell it mikes out at .690. Is the shotgun like a rifle where you go a little over your bore measurement. I don't know I am new to slugs. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

longbow
11-28-2012, 01:47 AM
Well, I guess I will start but I am sure lots of others will offer advice.

First, a slug through a full choke is not likely to give best accuracy. If the slug is sized to suit the choke then it will be too small for the bore and will either bounce down the bore if reasonably hard alloy or it will slug up unevenly (most likely) if it is soft lead. If it is sized to suit the bore then it will be squeezed down to get through the choke which of course will result in significant deformation. None of this is conducive to good accuracy.

Second, have you got rifle sights on the gun or just the bead? While it isn't impossible to get good accuracy with just a bead, it is much easier if you have decent adjustable sights.

If you want to proceed with the full choke barrel rather than cutting it off or buying another gun/barrel in cylinder bore, you will want to be using Foster style slugs. They are hollow base shuttlecock weight forward design and designed to swage down through a choke. Do not use a full bore diameter solid slug or round ball with a full choke!

Lyman makes a Foster slug mould but it is in my experience too big to fit into a shotcup and too small for the bore. Mine casts at 0.705" so well under bore size and slugs recovered from snow showed uneven slugging up with the nose cocked differently each time. Paper patching to bore size helped improve accuracy bunches but I got regular fliers.

Not sure what the options are currently other than: