PDA

View Full Version : Powder advice

7Acres
11-26-2012, 06:41 PM
Hello experienced casters. I am brand new to both reloading and casting. I've been devouring everything I could get my eyeballs on including this site, the Lee reloading manual and other forums over the past couple years I've been collecting lead and brass. Last weekend I cast my first .452 bullets for my semi-auto. The only thing I'm missing now is the powder and primers. I'm just taking it one step at a time as I get the necessary knowledge under my belt. Recently I started pouring over load data with the objective of choosing good flexible powders. I intend to cast and reload for all my guns ranging from 30-06 to my wife's .357 revolver to my .45 and even my little .380. My list of powders for my powder purchase currently looks like this:

Accurate No. 7 8lb
Accurate 2700 8lb
Alliant Bullseye 8lb
Aliant Unique 8lb
Hogdon Varget 8lb

That puts me at 42lbs. I'm trying to make the most out of the HazMat fee. So I could squeeze one more 8 pounder in there or buy various 1lb or 4lb*combinations* I feel like ordering this much powder is way overkill for a*hobbyist*like me. My brother in law will likely get into reloading after me and I could sell him some. Plus the thought that I've got enough for a lifetime and don't have to worry about price hikes or bans is comforting. I feel like I'm missing some perspective and maybe I'm going about this all wrong. Can you fine gentlemen help set me straight before I drop the money on an ill-conceived*powder purchase? What would you advise were I your son?

williamwaco
11-26-2012, 07:12 PM
Those are all good powders but that is WAY too much.
You won't live long enough to use that much powder.
You have enough pistol powder for over 40,000 rounds.

With your pistols, you will use at least five to ten times as much Bulls Eye and Unique as you will No.7.
And No.7 is VERY close to Unique.