PDA

View Full Version : COLT SAA .45 Colt--Best Boolit/Powder Combo

birch
11-25-2012, 08:07 PM
I have a Late 3rd Gen. single action army. I would love some advise from those of you who not only have a Colt 45 Single Action, but also cast, lube and size their own boolits.

The most accurate load I have made so far is a Lee 230gr. .452 RN over 5 grains of bullseye. I have only used Lee Alox on these boolits. However, I recently came across a Star lube sizer at a gun show and need some expert advise on the best resizer die to purchase for my Star and the best powder combo for a Lyman 250 grain LRN .452 bullet mold. Any help is appreciated.

By the way, I am very new to the Star, and have not even put one boolit through the ol' girl yet (Came with a .355 sizer).

Dan Cash
11-25-2012, 08:45 PM
I feed my US Fire Arms clone of the SAA a 250 gr Lyman round nose flat point that drops right at .454 with 20:1 alloy. I pan lube with my own lube made from bee's wax, canola and neatsfoot oils. The bullet is loaded as cast over 7.8 to 8 grains of Unique. Its accuracy is quite acceptable in my revolver and a friend's Vaquero and leading is non existant in either gun. It does ok in my Smith 25 too. Some guys use H110 for this cartridge but I have no experience with that powder and probably won't as the Unique works.

DanWalker
11-25-2012, 08:46 PM
I shoot 6.5 grains of Red dot under either a 250 grain or 320 grain boolit in my 45's. I sold my RCBS Lubrisizer after learning how to tumble lube with JPW/LLA

Wolfer
11-25-2012, 08:51 PM
In my new Vaq with 255 gr boolits @ 950/1000 fps unique has been a top performer. For lighter/ slower loads I prefer clays or tightgroup

If your boolit fits almost anything slower than 2400 will work pretty good in a 45 colt

Grapeshot
11-25-2012, 09:42 PM