PDA

View Full Version : Mauser actions

OnHoPr
11-25-2012, 08:03 AM
I've been trying to do a little research on the mauser actions for a sporter. I am basically interested in the large ring style. So far from what I've read and learned from conversation is the VZ 24, the FN, and the K98. But, from what I understand you have to watch the years from which the K98 was made. Last week I noticed the Styer 1908 action which was their configuration of the K98. Is this action a good strong well made action such as the VZ24 and FN? Also, is there any other actions that I haven't mentioned to look out for in regards to a sporter build that are in the same league as the VZ24?

375H&HGuy
11-25-2012, 08:57 AM
I'm no expert but I have always heard that one of the most desirable actions for a custom rifle is the 1909 Argentine. At one time I was very interested in having a custom 7x57 mauser sporter built and I picked up a nice 1909 action for the project. I plan to eventually have this done when funds allow. While researching actions I found a book entitled The Mauser Bolt Actions M91 through M98: A Shop Manual by Jerry Kuhnhausen. This is a very good and techincal book if you want to learn about the various actions and sporterizing options. This might be a good place to get some insight into what you want for your project.

OnHoPr
11-25-2012, 09:15 AM
I did look into that book, but where I looked it was a $100 dollars. About the same price as a lot of milsurps. When you start putting a couple of hundred in to books just so you know what to look for and not get taken with limited funds, it puts a damper on things.

phaessler
11-25-2012, 09:30 AM
Check Brownells, $100 seems like an anti-price to me..

http://www.brownells.com/books-videos/books/gunsmithing-books/rifle-gunsmithing-books/mauser-manual-sku924400098-25715-32959.aspx?sku=924400098