PDA

View Full Version : reguarding turning between centers

Bullshop
11-19-2012, 09:16 PM
Would someone please explain to me how to set up to turn between centers using a faceplate and dog. I am a beginning machining expert taking my first baby steps. I have only so far used regular chucks for turning. Have never yet turned between centers only between chuck and tail stock center.

bearcove
11-19-2012, 09:21 PM
I'm also clueless but put a dog on the chuck end the other is simple. Not sure how to "center" the chuck end on the bore.

I'd probably chuck up the barrel put the end on a center,, turn the end so bore was in "center", flip it around chuck the turned portion and turn it to dia.

bob208
11-19-2012, 09:29 PM
first you have to centerdrill both ends with a center drill. then use a lathe dog thsat hooks into the face plate. then install the tailstock center. then you are ready to go.

Reg
11-19-2012, 09:43 PM
First you have to center the part. You can start with one end in a chuck and set the other end in a steady rest. The center can be cut with a small boring bar or a center drill. Reverse the part and do the other end. Now the end running in the chuck might be running out a thou or so but subtend that out the length of the barrel and you come up with a error factor running out to five or six places. Close enough !! Most people cannot accurately measure that close.
Clean your tapers ( and the centers) pop in the centers and use the dog of your choice. Put a copper pad on the contact area of the dog. Do not over tighten the tailstock center and be sure to use a good sticky lube. As you cut remember that the barrel will elongate due to heat. Re-adjust your tail stock center frequently to allow for this.