PDA

View Full Version : Easiest Cast rifle round???

Mabbus4
11-19-2012, 02:50 PM
Hi everyone.

Let me start out by saying that I am pretty new to the reloading world. However
I currently reload only .380acp, 9mm, and .32acp. I am now looking at getting a rifle that I can shoot cast rounds out of that is pretty easy to reload for. From what I have read the faster traveling rifle rounds (.223, etc) are more prone to leading using standard ww lead and or reclaimed lead. Im looking for something easy to reload and cast for.

I have read that possible something like the 45-70 round is pretty easy to reload for with cast rounds due to the slower velocity. I have also thought about finding a rifle that shoots 38/357 rounds or 44mag due to the rounds being straight walled. Not sure how practical those are for any real world use besides paper targets (ready to be informed on this one)

I currently do not reload for any revolver type firearms. So I am pretty newbie about what is different in the reloading process with the possible rifle choices that would use a revolver type action. I already reload for my 9mm pistols so I have also thought about something like a 9mm carbine as well. But then i miss out on the longer range rifle capability. (havent done much research to see if it would lead the barrel any more than out of my current pistols I shoot from. If not then I could just keep reloading 9mm.

Whats your thoughts? Thanks guys!

x101airborne
11-19-2012, 03:15 PM
First of all, welcome!