PDA

View Full Version : 7.7 Jap loading problem

ChuLai 68
06-15-2007, 08:44 PM
I have two Jap 7.7 rifles. One has a .315 groove diameter and the other a .317.
I am new to casting bullets, but i have heard you should size them .001 to .002 larger then their groove diameter. I was able to find a Lee bullet mold in .324, but both Lyman and Lee sizing dies jump from .314 to .321.
Lee will make a custom sizer die for $30.00....i'm thinking i need a .317 as a compromise to use for both rifles. Am i right in my thinking here?
Also, how far down can you resize? Say from a .324 bullet, how much smaller can you make it?
One more question. Are these two bores shot out? I mean i can see nice rifling, but since Jap military bullets were .311, wouldn't it follow that the groove diameters wouldn't be .315 or .317?
Thanks!
Rick

38-55
06-15-2007, 08:57 PM
Hey Rick,
What is the measurement of the lands ? I've had good luck with sizing stuff for the 7.7 at .312. They tend to have very deep grooves and very large ( tall) lands...
Calvin

ChuLai 68
06-15-2007, 09:54 PM
I will have to get the slug and re-measure for the lands....i thought the choice of bullet diameter depends on the groove diameter? No?

hydraulic
06-15-2007, 10:01 PM
I have two '99s, an early and a late war. Both have bores that vary from .302 to .315, depending on what part of the barrel is being measured. The slugs, 00 Buckshot, come out lop sided or oblong, like one side of the barrel has been flattened.. Even with all this, they shoot well with 311413 bullets sized .311, 13 grs. Unique.

Bent Ramrod
06-16-2007, 12:02 AM
ChuLai,

Lyman/Ideal used to make a 316475 boolit mold for oversize Japanese and .303 British rifles; you might look in the catalogs of the custom mold makers to see if anybody reproduces something like this.