PDA

View Full Version : grooves, tumble or fill?

Rodgervich
06-15-2007, 12:20 AM
I am new to the forum and not a huge caster but I have the gear and can cast decent boolits for as little as I do. I am a capable machinist and hobby smith and recently got turned on to big bore handguns. I got a custom revolver chambered in .480 Ruger and want to make some .475 wadcutters.
The plan is to make a mold myself and wonder about tumble lube style or more conventional "fill" lube grooves. The Alox tumble lube works pretty well for low velocity stuff I have shot in .38's but no experience in anything bigger.
If velocity is kept low on the .480 WC would a tumble style have adequate lube to keep from leading the barrel too bad or do I need to go with full size grooves and make a sizer die and punch and stuff?
It would be much less work to go tumble but not if I have to scrub the barrel every 12 shots.
What insight can you guys give me?

redbear705
06-15-2007, 09:22 AM
Well from my limited experience tumble lube works ok.

I usually tumble lube two times with a day of drying then enough drying time after the second coat....usually a couple of days before loading.

I did not size the 38spl bullets and I found a size variance that was too great so I found a lyman 450 on ebay and now just size and lube em up on it.....using white label red carnuba lube....no leading!

JR

38-55
06-15-2007, 09:32 AM
Hey Rodgervich,
For relatively low velocity stuff the tumble lube bullets have worked great in my experience. When I say 'low velocity' I mean 1000 fps and under. If you need dimensions for the tumble lube groove I believe lee has a 'design your own boolit' thing on their site.
Hope this helps some
Calvin

Rodgervich
06-16-2007, 03:35 PM
Thanks for the responses! I checked Lees website and got their design guide and modeled these two versions accordingly. Both calculate out to be about 340gr give or take, seems reasonable but what do you think?