PDA

View Full Version : Tips for a stay at home dad?

Silvercreek Farmer
11-09-2012, 04:31 PM
I noticed in another thread that several members are stay at home dads. I was wondering if you had any tips from a man's prospective. I have been working in the corporate world for 10 years while my wife worked part time, doing most of the housework afternoon child care and related items. There is a chance that her current part time job could become a pretty good full time job in a year or two, and we have considered swapping out our roles in the household. One, because, I am ready for something different, and two because we figure our two boys (currently 6 & 10) need to spend more time with their father learning how to be men. I am perfectly capable of doing all the cooking/cleaning ect, and will probably try to move the farm work into the day rather than doing it all on nights and weekends like I do now. I figure I'll be alright as long as I stay busy and don't decide to eat in front of the television all day or crack a beer before supper!

Blammer
11-09-2012, 04:37 PM
time flies, there is never enough time from when they go to school to when they get home. :)

You have to plan your day's or they'll slip by and you'll get nothing done.

Get up when they get up and get dressed with a plan of action. Have pupose as if you're going to a full time job.If you just "do whatever" "whenever" it needs to be done, you'll get nothing done.

Make a list of stuff that needs to get done, then a list of things you want to do. It helps you stay motivated.

oh yea, and just because you're working on a project, remember you are not generating income you are spending it, so be THRIFTY, otherwise you'll work yourself into debt.

Crawdaddy
11-09-2012, 04:49 PM
My tip for you: ENJOY!

I wouldve loved to stay home with the kids, unfortunatley it wasnt financially feasible. It is hard work, taking care of kids and cooking is a full time job albeit a rewarding one.

shooterg
11-09-2012, 04:53 PM