PDA

View Full Version : Help choosing first molds

jham
11-09-2012, 06:17 AM
Hi everyone as the title suggests I'm just getting started casting. I have a source for wheel wieghts and just about have everything ready for my smelting, just need to weld up a few ingot molds. I'm looking to start casting for 3 calibers right now, 38/357, 45 acp and 44 mag.

In the 38 I am looking for something around 158 grns, either a semi wadcutter or else round nose fp, will be used for plinking and possibly some smaller hogs at close range out of a 4 in 38 spl and as practice loads for my 357 snubbie. I am open to anything in a 2, 4 or 6 cavity mold

In the 45 acp it will be for a full size 1911, practice loads and again possibly some small (less than 150lbs) hogs and deer at bow distances. I know many will say a 45 is not enough to hunt with but all shots will be taken under 40 yards, and animals dont get that big down here in south ga. I am thinking either a 200 swc or possibly a 230 tc boolit, not really sure what would be best. I do most of my pistol shooting with my 45 so more cavities are better.

Finally the 44, not looking for anything fancy just a boolit around 240 grns, again with either swc or possibly flat nose, shooting out of a 7 1/2 in super blackhawk with medium powered loads, so no gas checks, just something that will put a nice hole in a deer out to 50-75 yards.

oh and any suggestions on alloy are welcome, have a good bit of clip on and stick on wieghts, as well as a little range pickup lead

GP100man
11-09-2012, 07:37 AM
For 38/357 the lee 158rnfp is an excellent start , shoots good in all my 38/357. If ya don`t mind a heavier boolit check out NOEs 360-180.

In 44 a 429421 or clones of such is a good start .

It`s best to seek molds that drop phat & size em .

no exp with the 45, yet.

Custom molds are worth the extra coins !

MikeS
11-09-2012, 08:02 AM