PDA

View Full Version : size then lube or lube then size?

fanner 50
06-08-2007, 01:22 PM
I am new to casting my own and have ordered Lee equipment as it is all I can afford. I have read posts that say the LLA is OK but some make referance to lubing then sizing and others make referance to sizing then lubeing. Please help a confused beginer.:confused:

UweJ
06-08-2007, 02:03 PM
Hello Fanner
With LLA they say you should lube the boolits before you size them because it makes the operation of lubing smoother and it doesn´t put much strain on the sizing die.
After sizing you should lube again to put the final coat of lube on the boolit. That is with tumble lube style boolits .
I found out that warm water with a good portion fo liquid soap will do the same thing if you do it for sizing,after that you have to let them dry and put the final coat of LLA on.
Hope I could be of help.
Uwe

BABore
06-08-2007, 02:10 PM
Depends on the bullet, as cast size, and velocity you plan on shooting at. You may drop bullets that don't need to be sized, for your gun. In that case, cast, lube, and shoot. If you need to size them, then it could be lube first, or after. You will still need some sort of lube on them to be able to run them through the sizer without smearing some. Might just as well give them a coat of LLA first. For higher velocity, you may want to apply more than one coat, so do them before and after. Ther are no hard, fast rules. The gun will tell what it will like best. Most thin their LLA with mineral spirits, about 50/50, for easier application. Slug your bore and verify your size-to diameter if you haven't done so already.

**oneshot**
06-08-2007, 07:03 PM
I use a Q-tip to apply a light coat of olive oil to every 20th boolit for sizing. I pre lube them so I don't have to stop in the middle of things. I pan lube after sizing.

lar45
06-09-2007, 12:43 PM
Hi Fanner, glad you found your way here. It's a great place for all maters pertaining to cast bullets.