PDA

View Full Version : Jerkin' venison

Jim
10-22-2012, 08:21 AM
I'm gonna try jerkin' some venison this year. I've never done it before, but understand it's relatively easy to do. I got to snoopin' around for recipes and methods and found something rather interesting. Alton Brown, one of the guys on the Food Network, came up with a method of jerking using a common box fan and air filters (http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/beef-jerky-recipe/index.html).

I also discovered a device that vacuum seals canning jars (http://www.amazon.com/FoodSaver-T03-0023-01-Wide-Mouth-Jar-Sealer/dp/B00005TN7H/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1350908304&sr=8-1&keywords=canning+jar+vacuum+sealer)without the trouble and equipment required for hot bath canning. This would work for jerky, dried fruits and the like, but not for veggies and wet meats.

Trey45
10-22-2012, 08:25 AM
The first thing you're gonna need is a deer.

Olevern
10-22-2012, 08:28 AM
The first thing you're gonna need is a deer.

Gotcha there, Jim:-D

Trey45
10-22-2012, 08:31 AM
And Jim?

http://www.animalsintheattic.com/_wizardimages/raccoon.jpg

That ain't a deer.

Jim
10-22-2012, 08:38 AM
And Jim?

http://www.animalsintheattic.com/_wizardimages/raccoon.jpg

That ain't a deer.

Close enough. Besides, it's a lot easier to bring up out of a bottom, what with my arthritis and all that, ya' know. :veryconfu

fishnbob
10-22-2012, 09:16 AM
My mother in law had a recipe for barbequed coon that was the talk of the town years ago. Unfortunately it died with her, bless her heart. She was the best wild game cook I ever met. And a darn good mother in law.

fourarmed
10-23-2012, 05:36 PM
Down the list somewhere, a member posted a recipe for pulled pork in a crockpot. It works just as well with beaver. I thought about this because our gun club used to have a wild game feed every year, and they always had a huge broiler full of barbecued coon that I later found out was actually beaver.

44man
10-29-2012, 02:11 PM