PDA

View Full Version : need help with 40S&W--barrel leading

10ses
10-21-2012, 02:23 PM
ok so i'm new to this casting stuff, and i'm having a hard time coming up with a boolit that won't lead the barrel of my Ruger SR40--i'm using the lee 175's that i've cast with some old .38 bullets a friend gave me. they have a BHN of 16-18, a charge of unique(i've tried everything from 4.0-5.0 grs.) and my lube is 1# beeswax,1# paraffin,and 1/2#petroleum jelly--any help would be greatly appreciated! i hope i didn't just buy the lee pro4-20, my molds and everything else for nothing!

boltons75
10-21-2012, 03:21 PM
Keep playing, my Sr40c gave me some trouble, I went with the m expanding die, and it helped. Have you slugged the barrel yet? Mine needs a boolit sized to .402 at the min.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2

popper
10-21-2012, 03:26 PM
It'll work. Your lube is OK. I have the TC & SWC moulds, they're fine. You could go to 5.8 gr but probably won't enjoy it. You could also add some pure for a BHN 11 or so. Size matters, I have to size .401 for both my 40s or I'll get some leading (check size of sized CBs, my Lee pushthru was off by .0015 for all but really high Sb alloy). Yours may need to get bigger. With that BHN you are probably resizing the case when loading, make sure no shavings are at the mouth. Gear says some 40s have a sharp edge at the throat that can cause leading (shaving). He recommends a slight breaking of that edge to solve the problem.

Lefty SRH
10-21-2012, 03:27 PM
Slug or barrel that will tell you what size your boolits need to be. Your lube sounds ok. Why are your boolits that hard? What alloy are you using?

10ses
10-21-2012, 03:55 PM