PDA

View Full Version : Question about Marvelux

Maven
10-18-2012, 04:06 PM
A writer on another site claims, "... [Marvelux] seems to work well although sometimes it catches on fire while you are stirring it." He also stated that when casting long range boolits, it "bursts into flame" at 830 deg. F. Is this even remotely possible? Btw, I couldn't locate a MSDS sheet for it, but I wrote to Brownells asking this very question. No reply yet.

Hickory
10-18-2012, 04:34 PM
I have been using (it) Marvelux off and on for 30+ years and never had it catch fire.
Why would anyone run lead at 830 degrees?

454PB
10-18-2012, 04:46 PM
It won't burn or smoke, that's it's selling points.

Bent Ramrod
10-18-2012, 05:29 PM
I've had a friend tell me it catches fire now and then. He sprinkles small amounts on the lead surface with a salt shaker. I put a small teaspoonful on the surface and stir it in as it melts, so there is no opportunity for small particles to overheat.

I use Marvelux when the lead is very dirty or highly oxidized. If it is used exclusively, it slowly builds up a stonelike ring around where the lead surface is most commonly located, and eventually I have to chip this away from the pot walls. If I alternate other fluxes like wax, rosin or sawdust with the Marvelux, the ring builds up extremely slowly or not at all.

I've never gotten a lead pot above 750 degrees or so, at least according to my Lyman thermometer. The rheostat dial does say 800 and better when I dial in the thermometer reading; maybe that is what your writer means.

Maven
10-18-2012, 06:26 PM
All, I've used Marvelux for +25 yrs. as well because I cast indoors and it does a good job removing impurities. Frankly I don't think there's anything in it that is flammable, certainly not at 830 deg. F.

cbrick
10-18-2012, 08:19 PM