PDA

View Full Version : My first smelt

kylix.rd
10-15-2012, 02:05 AM
I tried my hand at smelting some scrap lead I acquired this weekend. I think I did pretty well for a total noob. Thanks to all the helpful posts, videos, and tutorials found here another other sites, I successfully smelted down about 21lbs.

I started with the lead WWs since that was going to be easiest. I got about 5 muffin tin ingots. I know, not much, but it's a start. I double fluxed, first with crushed corncob media. As it burned it formed little charcoal BBs that I stirred throughout the melt. I then added a chunk of wax from an IKEA tea-light. Here's the results of the WWs.

http://i1356.photobucket.com/albums/q730/kylix_rd/2012-10-14_22-31-46_902_zpsfc63d645.jpg

I also smelted down the large chunk of mystery metal from this post (http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=168095). It melted down very well and was surprisingly clean... of course after the WWs, a pile of mud is "clean" :). This chunk was certainly harder than the WWs and I could tell as it was melting and coming up to temp it was certainly a different composition. I was using a Lee Pro 4-20 for the work since I wasn't doing huge amounts and haven't yet budgeted a larger pot. The chunk was about 15lbs and oddly shaped. I knew I needed to break it up into smaller chunks so I took a small hatchet and a large sledge hammer and held the hatchet against the chunk and whacked the back of the hatchet with the sledge. The lead would eventually break and crack once it was weakend. It was a lot of work, but it did break up finally. This is where I could really tell that it was harder than the WWs. Each cracked off peice looked just like the photos I posted in the link above.