PDA

View Full Version : Lead Identification

kylix.rd
10-13-2012, 08:48 PM
Hello folks.

My first post here, so I'm sure to ask silly questions... I am just getting into the whole boolit casting thing and am gathering up the equipment and material. I went out to a scrap metal and recycling yard and scrounged about 10-15lbs of WWs, and about 15lbs of roof flashing and another 20lb block of mystery metal. I was able to determine that it was about as hard as the WWs by taking a small chuck and doing a comparison scratch test. Not scientific, but I figured it was close. All told, I got about 47lbs of scrap lead for $0.50/lb.

I think this mystery metal may be linotype or foundry type. It was clearly cast into the shape, but it was not a very decent pour since there are lots of irregularities. I was able to crack a piece in half since it had already started cracking. The internal crack wall revealing a very crystaline appearance. It is possible that it is keel lead, but it was much harder than the dead-soft flashing. I do live near the left coast and there are several harbors and lots of sailboats, so that could be what this is.

Here's a photo of the cracked wall, and of the whole chuck. I plan on melting this separate from the WWs and flashing just in case it is not going to work. Besides, at $0.50/lb I figured I could take a chance on it.

http://i1356.photobucket.com/albums/q730/kylix_rd/2012-10-13163613_zps9f8d3bac.jpg
http://i1356.photobucket.com/albums/q730/kylix_rd/2012-10-13163602_zps75494430.jpg

I'm hoping some of you experienced folks can give me some hints.

runfiverun
10-13-2012, 11:17 PM
well that is a chunk of lead :lol:
the crystaline structure indicates antimony,but the percentages????
it don't look quite right to me for linotype though,the crystaline structure looks too tight.

i'd pour a boolit from the soft lead,the ww's,and from that piece then weigh them.
the weights will give you a clue.