PDA

View Full Version : This lead is getting olde...

tnv
06-01-2007, 10:51 PM
As a commercial welder, I know that aluminum will get harder as it ages. Aluminum fresh from the supplier will be harder if it is allowed to sit for 6-12 months. But if the aluminum is used right away, it will be softer. This applies to almost all aluminum alloys. In doing aircraft repairs in tig or mig, the difference is substantial, and the age of the aluminum parts to be repaired has to be taken into consideration. Since the alloys used in aircraft have to be closely monitored, the hardness will vary, even when the alloys are the same, depending on it's age. This is NOT a matter of "work hardening." My question...is this the same with lead and lead alloys? If I cast 200 bullets from a supply of lead ingots, then a year later cast another 200 with the same ingots alloy, will the older bullets cast a year earlier be harder? Why? tnv

felix
06-01-2007, 11:21 PM
Not harder, but more consistent. Can't cast junk lead consistently unless the mold (lead) is at fixed temp, dropped into same temp ambient, from same height, etc, for all boolits in the lot. No two will be the same. All boolits will migrate to a steady state hardness, which depends on the natural (no funky exotics) makeup of the alloy. ... felix

Whitespider
06-02-2007, 08:07 AM
felix

I’m pretty green at this, so .....
I’m not trying to argue with ya, I’m just trying to learn.

I was under the impression that air cooled cast boolits
will age harden with time. Have I misunderstood?

felix
06-02-2007, 08:31 AM