PDA

View Full Version : .43 Egyptian or 11.3x50R,ROLLING BLOCK

Jonnytoobad
10-05-2012, 08:43 PM
Hello everyone
I am new to the Cast Boolits forum!!! I have been brought here by a old firearm...I recently purchased a Egyptian contract Remington Rolling Block. I bought it in Vermont when I was on vacation.

Like most of these rifles it is old and missing some parts...like the entirety of the rear sight assembly.....Also the Mainspring, while it was still in the rifle it is cracked in half and beyond repair...also the firing pin looks to have had the tip filed off ,but is still there. The rifling looks pretty decent for a black powder firearm that was made almost 140 years ago except at the muzzle it may have had an attempt to be counter bored.

The stocks are of course dinged up and cracked here and there...but otherwise it is in good shape the metal has some rust but no pits. The block lock up is tight and sear engagement is good on full and half cock. I actually located the receiver serial number though, I have been told these are more like Lot numbers than actual serial numbers.. and it is 35394...and it of course has the old style sliding extractor and the screw retaining the firing pin in the block.

It has the cresent moon and E.P. with 1911 under it I have been told this is the marking for the egyptian police...since this rifle is much older than 1911...I have read they are 1873 -1874 contract but may have had a second later contract....

The biggest concern I have is ammo I have done tons of research on the Catridge...but its pretty much a dead catridge...Bertram makes brass for it but read its a little small.....I only intend on using Black Powder or equivalent in the firearm and cast lead projectiles...

Anyone got any advice keep in mind I am a certified gunsmith so getting her shooting again wont be a problem...I need more advice in the cartridge arena.

Jonnytoobad

Don McDowell
10-05-2012, 08:46 PM