PDA

View Full Version : Forster hollow pointing question

rdlange
10-04-2012, 09:24 PM
What base do I need for hollow pointing 45-70, 30-30, 35 rem? And what pilots and other parts please? Will also be doing 357 maxi.

I have the original unit, and hoping I can take the parts off and put them on a longer base for long cartridges. Never used this tool yet. Advise please...

Thanks.

dragon813gt
10-04-2012, 09:47 PM
You can go to Forster's website and it will tell you exactly what you need. All the parts are transferable to the longer base.

Brought to you by TapaTalk.

arkypete
10-04-2012, 11:49 PM
Had a friend, a self taught machinist, who made a set of unique hollow pointing reamer/drill for his 458 American 2 inch. Using a 405 grain cast 45 caliber slug his reamer/drill bit made a hollow point that a 22 long rifle would slip into with a bit of pressure, nose first.
He got some impressive bullet expansion when hitting wood.

Jim

lmcollins
10-05-2012, 01:31 AM
I have always thought that the way to use the forester tool to hollowpoint would be to do it on the drill press. No length problems, and a quil stop.

If you look at their write up for that drill press trimmer it has an "alignment bar" to set the base up on the drill press table to locate it centered under the drill chuck.
The OAL of the item placed under the chuck is immaterial, and you wouldn't need their special "drill." Just use a center drill. They come in various sizes with the body portion cut to a 60, 82, or 90 degree angle.

On their web site they say that they will cut or grind collets to size. I was thinking of one in .358, .430, and .459 for my uses. I was also wondering if I couldn,t just put a standard off-the-shelf Forester collet in the lathe, and take a small carbide boring tool to it. One collet should be able to be made for at least two bullet diameters.