PDA

View Full Version : Dies- RCBS, Dillon, or?

rfp357
10-02-2012, 11:59 PM
I've been using a Lee Pro1k and have gotten good results from it. I'm new to reloading and have borrowed a friends older RCBS press and really like using it. It is so much slower than the progressive but I like taking my time while I reload.

I will buy a used RCBS press since I like it so much and wanted to know what dies you think I should buy to reload 9mm? Another friend swears that Dillon dies are the way to go although he doesn't knock other manufacturers dies.

I got a set of .38/.357 RCBS dies with the Pro1k and have been using them w/the RCBS press and I like them. Should I just buy the RCBS 9mm dies or spend extra money to get the Dillon dies? Is there any advantage to the Dillon dies?

Alvarez Kelly
10-03-2012, 12:33 AM
I own lots of Dillon equipment... but... in my opinion, if you are not loading on a Dillon, you won't get the extra money's worth out of a set of Dillon dies. Buy the RCBS dies and save some money.

Dillon dies have a large chamfer at the bottom of each die, to smooth the entry of the case into the die if the case is out of line a bit. You don't really need that if you are loading on most single stage presses. Also, the Dillon dies do not come with a belling or case flaring die. Dillon presses use a powder funnel to "bell" the straight wall cases. You will need a case flaring die if you load on a single stage press.

Now... if you PLAN to buy a Dillon in the future, that is different. Buy the Dillon dies. Buy a single case flaring die. A Lee die will work fine... The Dillon dies (plus a flare die) will work fine for now, and you will be VERY happy when you use them later on your Dillon. :-)

rmcc
10-03-2012, 12:41 AM