PDA

View Full Version : Pan lube help needed for 7.62x25

ronz
10-01-2012, 04:36 PM
Hi I’m new to casting and I’m attempting to load for tokarevs 7.62x25 and want them close to factory power don’t have a chronograph yet so have been going by how they feel and the very limited data that’s online so using my very unsophisticated methods trying to get from 1400 to 1600 fps
I’m using a Lee mould 311-93-1R six cavity (LEE90308) need to seat between the lube groves for proper length
95/2.5/2.5 lead I bought from Aaron
Barrels slugged at .301/.311 .302/.313 .301/.313 and .300/.312
.311 is the largest that will chamber if there seated short (both lube groves in the case) will chamber seated properly sized to .309 using a cz m-57 for testing slugged at .313
Using 45-45-10 and tumble lubing until all the groves are full didn’t get any leading but they gunk up the dies real bad and look like **** using any less I get leading (last 1/3 of the barrel) same with lla (short seated wd unsized.311)
I tried pan lubing with wheel bearing grease and bees wax at 50/50 leading was real bad (short seated wd unsized.311)
Have been using wd so far but I sized all the ad and there just over 2 weeks old so can start trying them now

Boolseye
10-01-2012, 05:29 PM
I would recommend three things to you:
cast the bullets hard (pure WW or equivalent)
pan lube them properly. Do a search on recipes–it should include wax and grease at a proportion of 6/4 or thereabouts (at least, that's what I use). Beeswax, paraffin, couple crayons for color, crisco, vaseline and JPW are all good ingredients. Do a search here and get all the info you could possibly use. Most people remove the cake and push the bullets out. I leave the cake in the pan and pull them out with a pliers. Works fine for me, barely marks 'em. I let it cool about 15 min, so it's still warm but not mushy.