PDA

View Full Version : First Antelope with a rifle!!

obssd1958
10-01-2012, 01:51 AM
Let me start by apologizing - this is not a cast boolit kill, but it was special due to the rifle used, and I figured a lot of you could appreciate it!

I have been applying for an antelope/rifle tag for somewhere near 20 years. My daughter drew one in 2001, and my wife drew one in 2010 - I had not, until this year. I have been bowhunting the same area for 10 years and have taken 3 antelope in the last 5 - 2007, 2009, and 2011.

I talked a good friend into getting the archery tag this year, because I figured that I would once again be unsuccessful in the draw for the rifle tag, and we could hunt together with the bows. He has almost no experience hunting antelope, so it was my thought to be the mentor for this hunt. When we found out that I had drawn the rifle tag, it kind of threw a wrench in the plans, but it worked out - we only changed our plans as far as the timing goes. The archery season ended the 24th of September, and the rifle season started on the 25th, so we scheduled the hunt for the 20th to the 27th.