PDA

View Full Version : Need a push into custom molds

Hal A Looyah
09-26-2012, 04:00 PM
I've been casting for a few years now. We shoot SASS so our cast boolits are pretty low performance. I'm super cheap and have cast with Lee, Lyman, and RCBS, all second hand. As some of you know the cowboy market is dominated by lightweight boolit designs that aren't real common in mass produced molds. I need an overall boolit length around .560 in .358 with a RNFP or TC, most commonly in 125ish grains.

My idea is to get a NOE 9mm GB rerun that matches a 130gr boolit that I've used successfully. Without a crimp groove, I could also use this boolit in 9mm.

My dilemma is aluminum or brass, and whether or not to bother with HP. I hear questionable feedback on HP performance, even after much experimentation. If I'm not gonna use HP, then aluminum is a lot more affordable. I've never spent over $50 on a mold.

Any other molds come to mind? I need a little help jumping into this uncharted water.

MT Gianni
09-26-2012, 04:06 PM
The Lee 38 105 is accurate and light. I don't know if it has the right profile that you want.

dragon813gt
09-26-2012, 04:24 PM
Check out Accurate Molds selection. He has quite a bit of designs ready to go. If he doesn't and you're willing to pay he can make whatever you want. I wouldn't bother with hollow points with what you want to do.

Brought to you by TapaTalk.

alamogunr
09-26-2012, 04:35 PM
The Lee .358-125 RF may be what you are looking for. It has a crimp groove but I use it in 9mm as much or more than .38 spec. The overall length of the boolet from my mold is .568.

GLL
09-26-2012, 04:51 PM
Contact Tom at Accurate Molds ! He will work out a custom design to meet your needs . There is absolutely no charge for that design service !! Just send him a sketch.

http://www.accuratemolds.com/index.php

Here is one he made for me.

Jerry

http://www.fototime.com/8F95495D13D5995/medium800.jpg

Wayne Smith
09-26-2012, 04:52 PM