PDA

View Full Version : Please help a neophyte: Load developemnt

Jim Flinchbaugh
09-24-2012, 06:17 PM
I've been reloading for almost 30 years, always using a known source of information, ie reloading manuals. I have never been a student of load development. Can someone point me to a reference(s) where I can learn all about the inter-relations of the various components we use?
I specifically am on the quest to become able to decide from a list of items, say, bullet weight/design, powder & primer selection, and how to decide when to use what, with a given barrel length and rifling twist, etc.

My purchase of a Handi Rifle last winter in 7-08 is the culprit behind this quest.
I finally got it to shoot under 6 inches but I am noticing that any load over minimum suggested starting velocities goes right down the toilet. I suspect that the shorter 22" barrel doesn't like what I've tried thus far.
I am deliberately not listing twist, bullet weight etc, because I don't want load recommendations, I want to learn how to choose the appropriate bullet weight, powder, etc for whatever firearm I happen to be dinking with. I can't afford to buy 12 different cans of powders, 20 different bullets etc. There should be a way to determine a good starting point based on the design parameters of the firearm?
So far, I think I have determined that seating depth has the biggest impact on vertical stringing, and powder charge seems to have the biggest impact on horizontal stringing, am I all wet?
My antics so far have been with j-words, as I could not keep 6 shots on paper at 100 yards with cast.
Best group so far has been 1.1" @100yds, consistently, but again this is with minimum loads. Anything above the suggested starting point moved into the 4" plus range instantly.
Am I nuts or am I just starting down that trail?:lol:

375RUGER
09-24-2012, 06:40 PM