PDA

View Full Version : Newb to shotshell reloading

waltham41
09-16-2012, 11:03 PM
Howdy all, have some questions, hope you guys can help. I am new to reloading shotshells, I have a .390 round ball mold that drops them at 90 gr using wheel weights.

Plan on using them in my Taurus judge and a 12 gauge semi auto Saiga

I have 444 Marlin cases I am going to use in the Judge, question is what material can I use for over powder card and over shot card..... I plan on hand loading the .410 without the use of a die set. Can I simply put the powder in, push a card of some sort in over it, put in 3 or 4 balls and put another card in and glue it somehow?

I am thinking of using alliant blue dot powder for the judge loads and the 12 gauge loads... I have a lee load all for the 12 gauge and will have to figure out how many .390 balls to use in that load... but that is down the road, I am wanting to get the Judge reloading going right now.

Any suggestions appreciated.

SuperBlazingSabots
09-17-2012, 10:10 AM
Hello Waltham, for .410 read this post:
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=158740
and for 12 ga perhaps this might help:
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=150140&page=5
Ajay
BlazingSabots@Gmail.com
Blazing Sabots, LLC
www.BlazingSabots.com
www.PreciousVideoMemories.com

sargenv
09-17-2012, 11:28 AM
If the 410 hulls were shot in anything other than your firearm, you may want to at least get some sort of sizing apparatus.. If these are not conformed to your firearm and were shot in a chamber with a generous (ie oversized) chamber, they won't fit into your gun and will be unable to fire.

You can get overshot and spacer/overpowder wads from BPI and Precision reloading.

waltham41
09-17-2012, 11:49 AM
They are only going to be shot out of the single Judge pistol.... I have a sizer die for the 444 marlin brass so I will be resizing the brass after each use.