PDA

View Full Version : Load development forum...

Idaho Sharpshooter
09-05-2012, 05:23 PM
Is there any real interest in a forum here based on identifying, and eliminating, the variables that keep rifles from attaining their best accuracy? Maybe just a stickie?

Simple things like punch-marking boolit molds, so that the boolit can be indexed from the time it drops gently from the mold, to loading and firing it.
Boolit boards, to allow you to place the boolits in order cast, etc.
Mirage Boards, and wind flags.

All that jazz...

Rich
Sua Sponte

runfiverun
09-06-2012, 12:39 AM
rich.
you know there is.
there is a sub-header for cast boolit loads it might go best there?

rhbrink
09-06-2012, 05:56 AM
Excellent idea!

RB

Plinkster
09-06-2012, 05:59 AM
Wow, that's going deep. I'm in!

Lefty SRH
09-06-2012, 12:23 PM
Don't know what I can offer to the forum cause I'm still learning myself. BUT, I sure like the idea.

Idaho Sharpshooter
09-13-2012, 11:31 PM
Okay, as a start:

Let's say you have an accurate J-bullet word rifle in .308 Winchester.

1. Check your locking lugs to see how evenly they bear. Use Dykem Blue or Red and coat both lugs, front and rear. Work the bolt a couple times and pull it. There should be very little Dylem marking fluid left. If so, is it fairly even on both sides, and front and rear? I demonstrated this to a friend many years ago, and we found that his left locking lug had about 80% bearing surface, and the right did not touch. He laughed, and told me the factory set them up that way on purpose. It was a spare for backup.

2. Say you have a 2-cavity or more mold. Take a very small prick punch and punch a small mark in one of the cavities just ahead of the bearing surface. Cast your boolits with due care, and segregate those boolits. Those are your testers. Orient those boolits when you size/lube/seat the GC.