PDA

View Full Version : recomendation for first "real" reloading press

John in WI
09-05-2012, 01:45 PM
I am currently loading .38's with a Lee Loader and loading 12 gauge shells by hand and crimping them with a roll crimper. So far the results have been pretty good but at least with the .38 it's been painfully slow!

I just learned that my AK barrel is about a thousandth oversized and I can't find any commercial ammo that will shoot remotely well in it. A LOT of keyholes. So unfortunately it looks like commercial ammo is not going to give me any kind of decent accuracy.

So I think I finally need to break down and get a real reloading press (they don't make a Lee Loader in 7.62x39) and a mold in .312.

The problem is I'm a college student (ie broke) and an apartment dweller and a tiny apartment at that! So I'm considering the Lee Breech Lock Hand Press Kit.

Anyone have experience with it? I'm not so concerned with pumping out millions of rounds with it. I don't have a whole lot of time to shoot anyway and even with the Lee Loader I can lay back enough ammo to keep me in plenty of ammo for the revolver. I'm not one to take the AK out and hose down the range with bullets. If it shoots straight and reliably, I would be perfectly happy.

Thanks for any advice on the subject.

Moonie
09-05-2012, 02:00 PM
I have one and it works for the tasks I use it for which is mostly depriming. It is a very handy press, it will handle most reloading chores, I wouldn't want to resize large magnum brass in it but it would probably be fine with it. It doesn't come with any way to prime so I'd recommend a hand primer by Lee as well.

It will be slow, but doable.

fcvan
09-05-2012, 02:53 PM