PDA

View Full Version : Score today!(this one for real)

Patrick L
08-28-2012, 07:42 PM
Yesterday was a sort of score since I had to pay for it (see separate thread.) Today was a true score since it was free!!! Small towns are amazing. Bear with me, this will ramble a bit.

Some of you who know me know that I am a music teacher by trade. I'm a high school band director. I have dabbled in musical instrument repair for years, figuring if I can save my district some $$ by doing repairs myself everyone benefits.

Anyhow, I took a part time job this summer working in an instrument repair shop. It's operated by two brothers, and they handle the repairs that are too much for me. They know me and my abilities and could use a little extra help over the summer, when the repair shops get backed up because all of the schools send their instruments in to be gone over. The shop is located about 70 miles from where I live in a very small rural town in upstate NY. Because of the distance I only work one day a week.

Well, these guys are also hunters and shooters (but not reloaders,) so I tell them about bullet casting and how I am on a hunt to scrounge up enough wheelweights to last the rest of my life. They are really intrigued with the process. Here lies the beauty of small towns. These guys grew up in this town, know everyone, and everyone knows them. They tell the two garages (back about a month ago) in town that a friend of theirs wants some scrap wheelweights, would they save them for him? Hell yes, be glad to.