PDA

View Full Version : Building AK Recievers

x101airborne
08-22-2012, 05:25 PM
Hey All. I was wondering if anyone has any experience building AK's. I have purchased two recievers off of S&S and am looking to buy parts kits. If anyone has AK parts, advice, cautions, etc... I would like to hear from you. I have NEVER built an AK before and dont want to create a dangerous situation.
Thanks All.
Trey

RU shooter
08-22-2012, 06:18 PM
I built two of them back when the Romanian kits were 89 bucks. There are about 4 different ways to attach the front and rear trunnions to the receiver, The best way is to press the barrel off and rivet as they did at the AK factory ,easiest way is to modify a cheap set of bolt cutters to squeeze the rivets in the front trunnion . The rest can be set with a hammer and a concave setting punch. The other ways are to drill and tap and use screws , Drive rivets, or weld if your good at it the last three can be done on the 6 holes on the front without removing the barrel and you can rivet the rest without trouble . Its not that hard at all if you have any kind of mechanical abilities . You use the magazine to set the placement of the front trunnion and use the top cover to fit the rear . If your rec. are pre drilled they will be real close as is

leftiye
08-22-2012, 09:42 PM
I've got two receivers and a polish underfolder kit that I've had for a while. I bought a device for bending the one receiver, but I'm very unsure of the jig thingie working and am considering cutting the receivers where they are supposed to bend, applying some or all of the side to side support rivet/bolts and front and rear trunnions and then welding it to fit correctly.

tomme boy
08-22-2012, 10:04 PM