PDA

View Full Version : Reloading for Swedish Mauser

justwondering01
08-19-2012, 04:05 PM
I am new to reloading bottle neck rifle shells and I am starting with a 6.5 x 55 Swedish Mauser. I've reloaded thousands of pistol rounds but rifle rounds are new to me. I am using IMR 4350 and 140gr jacketed spitzer soft points with a Lee 3 die set. I sized the brass I had with the Lee collet die, primed it with Winchester LG rifle primers and then put 43gr of IMR 4350 in them. Everything was good up until I started seating the bullets. I found that the bullets went into the neck very easily. So easy that for most of the cases I could put them in with my fingers. That doesn't seem normal to me. Did I miss a step somewhere or do I need a factory crimp die to crimp them correctly? Any suggests/tips would be greatly appreciated.

Maven
08-19-2012, 04:38 PM
Did you follow Lee Precision's instructions for setting up the collet die to the letter? Also, if you were to size a handful of 6.5 x 55mm brass with the FL sizing die screwed down to touch the shellholder, would the jacketed bullets still be loose; i.e., removable with your fingers? Lastly, is the brass new or is it old enough to need annealing?

08-19-2012, 08:12 PM
If the brass is new, or previously fired but new to you, full length size, trim, and de-burr them. After they've been fired in your rifle, Lee's collet neck sizing die can be used.

Helpful hint: In the future, make up dummy rounds -- no primer, no powder -- and assure they load and chamber correctly, before moving on to live rounds.

zomby woof
08-19-2012, 08:28 PM
If it is the LEE neck size collect die, make sure it is set up correctly. Measure the rod the case neck is being formed against. I've had to remove some material before because the rod OD was too big. It will never get enough neck tension if the rod is over size.

justwondering01
08-20-2012, 06:06 PM