PDA

View Full Version : Head stamp

45fan
08-16-2012, 01:49 AM
I have been on the selling and swapping thread and i have a question. Why when brass is being traded or bought and sold do people let you know what the head stamp markings are? What difference does the marking make on brass for reloading purposes? And is one marking better than another? I have been known to pick up range brass and while I am just getting started casting and reloading if there is something about a particular head stamping I am unaware of I would like to know or is it all just personal preference?

Adam10mm
08-16-2012, 02:05 AM
Generally it's mixed brass meaning a bunch of different makers. Some hand sort for all the same headstamp in a lot, which adds labor and price. In the grand scheme of things it doesn't matter much. Same headstamp gives to consistency, but for most purposes it's overkill. Unless you can shoot a match and win a few thousand dollars doing so, don't worry about it. Brass from the big guys like Starline, Winchester, Remington, Federal, CCI, Speer, Independence, Blazer (CCI brand), Hornady are all good brass. Just clean, load and shoot.

Ola
08-16-2012, 02:06 AM
Some brands are better than other IN CERTAIN CALIBER.

Maybe some examples will help you understand what I mean:

in .308 Win I prefer Lapua and Norma brass over Sako, Sellier & Bellot and Magtech (the most common brands here). Lapua and Norma brass has the best over all quality if one wants to load accurate cartridges.

In .44 Mag I use exclusively Magtech and S&B because they are always available and the quality is good. F.e. IMI's .44 Mag brass goes straight to the pin (loses its neck tension very fast).

bobthenailer
08-16-2012, 11:19 AM
IME i have found useing the same headstamp brass for a certian load gives you more constiancey/ better accuracy. If your really serious only use the same lot # brass
But it really comes down to how well you can shoot to use the improved accuracy ?