PDA

View Full Version : G'day to all from Oz

dupontin
08-14-2012, 10:16 PM
:grin: G'day to all from Australia !

I'm a newbie to casting and reloading, I've been shooting for 30 years, but done little reloading and casting in that time. (10 years military service also).

I hope I can learn lots from you all, and above all enjoy myself, Life is for fun, shooting is fun, therefore shooting is life....

I will be reloading .223 and .308 and probably in about six months I want to buy a 357sig (maybe a Sig Sauer or Glock)
Definitely reloading that baby too.

I currenly have the following firearms
1. Ruger Gunsite Scout (18 inch barrel, stainless steel with no flash hider)
2. Tikka T3 .223 1in8 twist barrel (suitable for larger 70-80gr projectiles)
3. a CZ .22 and .22 pistol. (obviously not for reloading ;-)
Any guidance around lead mixes, molds (moulds ?), equipment brands always welcome.

We have some pretty strict laws in Australia, and lots of firearm importing companies wanting to treat us badly and rip us off.
Therefore the more I can make myself the cheaper my sport.

Again G'day to all.

Mike

runfiverun
08-14-2012, 11:44 PM
you have one of the best mold makers around right there in australia.
cbe [cast bullet enterprises]
you'll get plenty of opinions here and lot's of suggestions and good advice too.
but you have to try stuff and be observant to what happens in your particular set-up [and alloy you can get] to get things as good as you can.

welcome aboard.

dromia
08-15-2012, 12:59 AM
Welcome to Cast Boolits dupontin. :drinks:

There are quiet a few Ozzie members here as well as some of us from the home country. :)

Southern Son
08-15-2012, 03:10 AM
dupontin,
Dude, where in Oz are you? I am not far out of Rockhampton, Qld. Dromia is right on the money, there are a bunch of us on here, and a few Kiwis, to boot.