PDA

View Full Version : MP mold casting error

Shuz
08-12-2012, 10:10 AM
When you hear what I did, you'll think I'm a newbie to the silver stream gang!
I was casting away the other day with a 429421HP4C that is affectionately known as "the mould from Hell". I don't have to worry about sprue size and spillover because the heavy hollow pin plate fits from the bottom. Well, I figgered I might as well utilize my MP 503 clone hp mould and cast the two moulds in tandem as I've done many times before. The problem is, I got careless and allowed molten lead to spill over onto the Cramer style pins. They froze and I could't get the lead off the pins. Whilst having a brain phart, I decided to dip the brass mould into the melt, like I've done many times with Lee moulds. After a short time all the lead just drops off the Lee moulds. With the MP brass mould, all I got was a yellow mould with a blob of lead covered with kitty litter! I finally got most of the lead off and was able to return the mould to production, but now the mould has this ickey looking crud all over it, and a few alloy flecks inside the mould vent lines! The question is.......how is the best and safest way to remove same and restore the finnish to the mould and sprue plate?
The next question... should this happen again, what is the "approved" method of removing the alloy from the Cramer style pins?

jethunter
08-12-2012, 01:11 PM
I've spilled lead over the pins many times. Sometimes I have been able to just pluck the lead out from the side using needle nose pliers, but don't pull too hard or you might bend the pins. For stuff that doesn't come easily I remove the retainer clip and use the nn pliers to pull it off from the top. There's less chance of bending a pin if you pull the lead off from the top of the pin than if you are trying to pull it out from the side. It's easier too if the lead is still soft so do it asap while it's still hot.