PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on the Speer 158gr SWC HP bullets...

DEVERS454
08-09-2012, 12:00 AM
All,

How does Speer swagged lead hollow point 158gr .358 bullets compare to soft lead?

I was wondering as I am looking to reload some 38spl +P rounds to match my Rem factory "FBI load".

I've always prefered the 38spl +P in my snub nose revolvers, but, the cost of a box of the factory Rem is over $30 and I can reload for less than 1/5th that.

Anyone know if the Speer bullets are as soft as the Remington?

Regards.

rintinglen
08-09-2012, 12:09 AM
Those speer bullets are very soft. I have no experience with the Remington HP, but have loaded and fired thousands of the Remington HB WC's. I would venture to guess that both are made from nearly pure lead and they seem to be about equally soft. I KNOW that dropping them on the cement will deform them...not information I wanted to have, but it is what it is.

DEVERS454
08-09-2012, 08:21 AM
Thanks for the info. I noticed they were nearly identical, maybe the Rem bullets having a slightly larger hollowpoint.

They both have the same dry film lube on them, which I guess is a good thing. I've never had any leading with it in my Ruger or Smith barrels. (thus far)

runfiverun
08-09-2012, 12:33 PM
they are swaged not cast.
thier usual alloy is 5% antimony and pure lead no tin.

Rocky Raab
08-09-2012, 01:00 PM
Hornady swaged (correct spelling) bullets are the same: nearly pure lead pressure-formed to shape and dry-lubed. It's best to keep them to 900 fps or under, but that's where most standard-pressure revolver loads run anyway. If you get any leading with them, you can probably eliminate it with a thin coat of LLA. Just be very careful with your "tumbling" -- a gentle swirling action in a plastic tub is best. Those bullets do dent easily.

Wally
08-09-2012, 01:32 PM
I loaded a box of Speer lead SWC's 250 grain .45's... very inaccurate...so bad that I pulled over 90 bullets and used them in my Production pot.

fecmech