PDA

View Full Version : new guy with new guy questions

19ellis93
08-07-2012, 09:44 PM
Well.......ive been all over y'alls Web site reading up on the art of casting bullets,all I can say is WOW! my eyes hurt. Lots of great info to read and take in. so much that its hard to know were to start. I'm new to the world of reloading to begin with and im using bought bullets now. Now that I'm fairly comfortable with that id like to expand into casting the bullets.
I guess if you all are willing to answer,what would be the first treads I should read that would have the information needed for a Newby to get started. Basically help me from not knowing a thing about it to knowing a little with the least confusions.
Thanks in advance:popcorn:

500MAG
08-07-2012, 09:54 PM
My suggestion would be to pick up a Lyman Reloading manual. It's a great reference and walks you thru casting basics. This site is absolutely unbelievable but you do need those basics to start you up. It;s nore than just picking up a melting furnace and casting some wheel weights. The Lyman manual was how I started 25 years ago before the internet and I still go back to it on occasion.

08-07-2012, 09:56 PM
Welcome, 19ellis93.
I will suggest:
1. Lyman's Cast Bullet Handbook. Either the third of fourth edition, but preferably both.
2. Our site's archive: http://castboolits.gunloads.com/archive/index.php
3. This site: http://www.lasc.us/CastBulletNotes.htm From Ingot to Target is especially informative.
4. This site: http://www.castpics.net/

There is much information in all the above, and, often, I will refer back to all of them.

H.Callahan
08-07-2012, 10:07 PM
+1 on all the above. Make sure you check out the stickies in the forum. Most of the common problems are hashed out there, plus all the unique and fun things as well.

Also consult with your financial analyst beforehand hitting the Swapping & Selling or Group Buy forums. They are both hazardous to your wallet!

btroj
08-07-2012, 10:45 PM