PDA

View Full Version : Please help me choose a .38 WC Mould

Argentino
08-07-2012, 09:04 PM
Hi all,

Newbie here. I have been reloading .38 spl with my own .357" 158 grain SWC boolits for a while. So far so good.

However I would like to try to another different boolit design so Iīm looking for a WC mould.

Right now my only choices are Lee designs: the tumble lubing/microgrove
design and another one also from Lee but with a small button nose and 3 square cut grooves for lubing plus one crimping groove.

Both of them have the same weight (148gn). I would like to decide for one of these.

For those who might be familiarized with Leeīs parts numbers: the designs are #90279 and #90312.

I think I like the look of the classic design (with the button nose and lubing grooves) but despite of that I really donīt have any good reason to choose one or another.

Which should be the pros and cons of each design?

I asssume that the microgrove design should be easier for casting without defects and maybe no sizing is required after casting with this design.
But Iīm not quite sure about that.

I would aprecciate your opinions please.

Thanks in advance.

Buckshot
08-08-2012, 06:00 AM
...............If you're going to be shooting loads normally associated with the 148gr WC's, choosing between the TL or conventional 3 groove design would be a matter of flipping a coin. Heads for one and tails for the other. I have both Lee designs and have found the conventional design the more accurate of the 2 in my M14 S&W. Accuracy difference isn't huge, and considering both designs get tumble lubed, I'd go with whatever strikes your fancy.

However your milage may vary from mine, (so far as accuracy goes) but I'd say that if they both drop from the mould at a correct diameter why not tumble lube the conventional design also?

..............Buckshot

Argentino
08-08-2012, 12:03 PM
Thanks Buckshot.