PDA

View Full Version : 1891 "Argie" Mauser Cavalry Carbine (7.65x53 mm.)

Argentino
08-03-2012, 03:46 PM
Hi,

Newbie here. I bought this one just a couple of days ago.

Even when this carbine was military issued at my country by the thousands at the turning of the century now they are getting hard to find in original condition.

Despite of the stock (which seems coated with some kind of varnish or something), it is original and 100% matching. Both bore and crest are in excellent condition as well.

This particular one is from the first run of 10000 Cavalry Carbines made for the argentinean army by Loewe during early 1890īs.

It is better known here by the nickname "mulita" (spanish word for "little mule") due to stout recoil when firing 7.65x53 military rounds: that steel buttplate can hit really hard on the shoulder when shooting from bench or prone position.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/imagehosting/thum_24784501c27950936d.jpg (http://castboolits.gunloads.com/vbimghost.php?do=displayimg&imgid=6120)

Ed in North Texas
08-03-2012, 04:11 PM
Good looking carbine. I like the 7.65x53mm cartridge, and yes - it does kick in the carbines. Cast boolits are a good start at taming that kick to something more reasonable.

Welcome to the forum.

Ed

Uncle Grinch
08-03-2012, 04:14 PM
Enjoy what you have, they are very hard to find in matching unaltered condition.

I've got the '09 version carbine and love to shoot it.

largom
08-03-2012, 04:38 PM
Great gun and it will become more valuable in the future if maintained in it's original condition. I have one but like an idiot, I drilled and tapped it for a scope many years ago.

Larry

Hip's Ax
08-03-2012, 05:05 PM
NICE rifle! I have a 1909 long Argentine and it shoots less then 2 MOA with my hand loads and jacketed match bullets. Still trying to find time to work up a cast load for it.

Frank46
08-03-2012, 11:36 PM