PDA

View Full Version : Lyman 450 question.

rmatchell
08-02-2012, 06:20 PM
Im picking up a used lyman 450 tomorrow morning, i was wondering what is the best way to clean one up and remove the old lube. I have never used one before but figured i would try to clean it up like new from the start. Also any tips or tricks would be nice.

LUCKYDAWG13
08-02-2012, 06:24 PM
boil it outside will clean up real nice but do it outside in a old pot that the wife wont miss

largom
08-02-2012, 06:50 PM
You can get the old lube out with a hot-air gun or hair dryer. Any sizer die should be removed and an old pot or other container held under the sizer to catch the melted lube.

Larry

snuffy
08-02-2012, 07:09 PM
Take it all apart first. That means the lube piston, die and anything that has lube in/on it.

Submerge the whole thing in boiling water, then keep it there for at least 60 minutes. Make sure that the melted lube can escape, or move it around to help it float out. The whole sizer body HAS to be above the melting temp of the lube.

Turn the heat off, then go do something else until it has resumed room temp. Then the hardened lube can be lifted off the surface of the water, the sizer will be clean.

Heat guns work too, but you're going to have to hold it on there for a very long time to heat the whole cast iron body so the lube will melt and run off.

JonB_in_Glencoe
08-02-2012, 08:11 PM
Heat guns work too, but you're going to have to hold it on there for a very long time to heat the whole cast iron body so the lube will melt and run off.

A garage style heatgun usually takes me only about 5 to 10 minutes to liquify a soft style lube enough to drain it from the sizer, Then I clean it with ed's red, if I want to remove all residue. this is the one I use http://www.harborfreight.com/1500-watt-dual-temperature-heat-gun-572-1112-96289.html

BUT, if I were to clean a lubesizer with 20+ year old dried lube, I'd boil it.
Jon

Mk42gunner
08-02-2012, 09:06 PM