PDA

View Full Version : M die advice

rollmyown
07-30-2012, 08:07 AM
I'm having 2 "M" die plugs made.

I have no experience with these dies. I need to size 303 Brit cases to accept .316 boolits and .317 / .318 PP boolits (also I have zero experience with pp boolits)

I need to give dimentions for custom made plugs

Thanks in advance.

07-30-2012, 10:17 AM
Qualifier: While I've taken this approach, it does not mean that it will work for others.

Since M-die expander plugs are designed and manufactured for jacketed bullets, rarely are they big enough to work correctly with cast boolits. When it came time to have custom plugs made, I designed the first step to enter the case as deep as the intended boolits' length, and .002" less in diameter. The second step was dimensioned to enter the case approximately 1/16" inch, and .001" greater in diameter.

I feel these dimensions allow for case springback to provide enough neck tension, won't cause the case to downsize the seated boolit, and assure correct boolit-to-mouth alignment.

I haven't any paper patching experience.

45 2.1
07-30-2012, 10:33 AM
I'm having 2 "M" die plugs made.

I have no experience with these dies. I need to size 303 Brit cases to accept .316 boolits and .317 / .318 PP boolits (also I have zero experience with pp boolits)

I need to give dimentions for custom made plugs

Thanks in advance.

That "step" in the plug doesn't do you any favors. Make the cylindrical portion of the plug 0.001" to 0.0015" under your sized boolit diameter and longer than the case neck. The flareing angle can be about 3 to 5 degrees off centerline and you'll be good.

Char-Gar
07-30-2012, 12:07 PM
The issue of expanders for cast necks has heated up as of late with some folks condeming M-Dies as worthless and accuracy destroyers. I take this with a grain of salt.