PDA

View Full Version : A better pot

huntincowboy
07-27-2012, 12:36 AM
Hi everyone, this is my first post. So I've been casting for about 6 months now and I have a question about my pot. When I first started (like when I truly began six months ago) I was getting frosty bullets, which my Lyman cast bullet handbook says means you need to lower your temperature. So I started lowering my temperature and for a while (several casting sessions) I was getting good boolits. I cranked up the ol burner at the beginning of the summer to make more boolits and I sat my mold in the smelt to bring it up to temps. It's a lee aluminum mold and shouldn't take long to bring up to temp, but it was freezing in the smelt and the smelt would turn all semi-liquid. I pulled it out and let it melt again and decided to bring the mold up to heat by pouring. Mistake, I couldn't get lead into the cavity without it freezing on the sprue. I eventually got a few poured but they did not fill out good. Only had 25 or so keepers out of a full 10 lb pot. I think my problem may be that the pot is just not hot enough anymore, but with my lack of experience I don't really know. I've been using the 10 lb Lyman Big Dipper pot to do everything from the WW to the boolit because I only do small batches as I need them for revolver plinking. I can see how maybe the pot has gotten dirty and affected the heat output but I've only made maybe 8 potfuls of smelt.

So I'm thinking maybe the coils have become damaged because I've seen a few threads with pics of the pots broken down to the coils. If this sounds on the right track, I'm thinking about buying a better quality pot or maybe even going the propane route. Any suggestions? I would be wanting to go dual duty with the unit, but if that's not really a good idea I could get set up to smelt for ingots and bullets in different steps. I'm looking for my equipment to last much longer than 7-8 casting sessions.

waksupi
07-27-2012, 12:42 AM