PDA

View Full Version : 1943..... Truly, a "Vintage Year" (in some folks' opinon, anyway!)

BruceB
07-25-2012, 04:44 PM
Since Christmas of 1959, I have continuously owned military rifles of one sort or another.

On that red-letter day, at 16 years of age, my parents gave me a Parker-Hale #4 Enfield. In the decades that followed , my assemblage expanded to over 100 rifles on occasion as I studied and played with the various types.

I developed some strong preferences.....my military favorites have now cooked-down to the #4 Enfield, M1 Garand, FN-FAL, and M14/M1A. In the very recent past, I've devoted a goodly amount of time to finding prime examples of these, and reducing the overall gross numbers in my racks.

The FAL is represented by a beautiful walnut-stocked DSA SA58, and I'm happy with it. Likewise, my M1A is a new Springfield "loaded" rifle, also in walnut. But the other two....

I was first issued a Long Branch #4 (#85L7408) in the summer of 1958 at a camp in Saskatchewan. Since that time, I've been searching for a suitably-lovely Long Branch to call my own. NVCurmudgeon took me to a newish gunshop in Reno a couple months ago, and they had a GORGEOUS LB#4 which went home with me. Cobbmtnmac calls it "museum quality", and I don't think it was ever issued. Simply a lovely example. $270!!!!!

Curmudgeon and I attended a Big Reno Show a year or two back, and I left the place with another great rifle...this is now my favorite Garand. It appears to be a Danish-return Springfield rifle, with a new-condition "VAR" barrel dated 5-61. Metal finish is perfect, and the stock is un-scarred high-gloss walnut which rivals any commercial rifle on the dealer racks today. Cost? Just over $500!

I now refer you again to the thread title.

-on the receiver of the #4, it says "Long Branch 1943", and

-searching Garand production dates, my rifle was built in 1943, and

-checking my own Birth Certificate I find "Detroit M! 1943"!