PDA

View Full Version : Chronographs (NEED ADVICE)

ez4545
05-03-2007, 11:04 PM
I would like to buy a chronograph in the next few days. I don't know the first thing about them but I think the time has come as I'm ready to start using surplus powders. I know the measure of speed won't let me know if I'm heading towards a too much pressure fiasco. What I am looking to do is develop loads that won't beat up my arthritis too much. I have never looked to develop the fastest load. I want to reduce recoil and chase accuracy.

I have never used a chronograph before or really discussed them with anyone that has.

I see there are several manufacturers out there and I don't have any ill feelings toward any of them, so I'm open to all opinions and recommendations.

I appreciate you taking the time to advise me on this purchase!

Bill

leftiye
05-03-2007, 11:27 PM
EZ, I have an old oehler- the first and lowest priced model that has sky screens. It is kinda ungainly to use, special stands to set up (that I built). The new ones like the chrony are all in one piece. The down side to this is that people shoot them (bye bye chronometer) instead of just getting a screen. Rcbs has one where the "works" detaches from the sky screen component- some better.

To be honest, the only real advantages to accuracy for you would be to be able to get a standard deviation of shots fired. Lets you know if things are consistent. And it is nice to actually know how fast a boolit was going (though not really necessary).

All you really need to get milder accurate loads is research to find the loads, and targets to tell you if they shoot straight. A third thing necessary is a micrometer, and knowledge of how to assess pressures.

Shiloh
05-03-2007, 11:30 PM
You get what you pay for.

I have a Chrony Beta, the Blue colored one. It records, and yu can retrieve shots and delete shots ect. I can be upgraded. It works fine for my purposes.