PDA

View Full Version : Is this gas cutting....

suba
07-14-2012, 07:08 PM
I don't post much but would like getting a few opinions if I can. I've been shooting for over 50 years hand loading over 35. Started casting maybe a year ago. I shot 5 boolits into a hard dry dirt pile the other day. I only recover 3 of them. After inspecting the boolits I'm sort of puzzled. The noses expanded a little but the bands lost material. I'm not sure if it was gas cutting or abrasion. I Had a light crimp so no way I can see the cases sized down the bands. It seems like gas cutting but no lead in the bore. Absolutely none. Had a perfect lube star on the muzzle. That's why I'm puzzled. I'm not sure what happened. Here's the load.

FA 5.5" 454

Sized .4515. Boolits grew to .4518. They just pushed through the throats.

400 PB oven hardened. BHN 18-25. Yes maybe GC might be better but I wanted a PB.

Loaded 19, 20, 21, 22, 22.5 IMR 4227/Starline/ Federal GM205M.

Bull shop speed green.

OAL 1.760

I'm guessing 22.5 grains was around 1100/50,000 but it might have been more. It seemed like 1200+ but no chrony so don't know for sure. All opinions would be welcome.

MtGun44
07-14-2012, 07:13 PM
Probably fractured off at impact with the dirt. Hard alloys can be brittle - lino for example.

Bill

geargnasher
07-14-2012, 11:15 PM
Definitely impact abrasion, just look how much dirt/sand packed into the grooves! I see one perfect engrave on the middle boolit, they look great to me and show very little skidding. Sounds like everything is working great.

Gear

Shiloh
07-15-2012, 08:52 PM
Re-melt them, re-pour them, re-shoot them.

Shiloh

303Guy
07-15-2012, 09:09 PM
Here's what gas cutting looks like (sometimes).

http://i388.photobucket.com/albums/oo327/303Guy/MVC-314F_edited-1.jpg
http://i388.photobucket.com/albums/oo327/303Guy/MVC-713F_edited.jpg
http://i388.photobucket.com/albums/oo327/303Guy/shotskirttails2.jpg
That last one was in Deep Purple.

MtGun44
07-16-2012, 10:33 PM