PDA

View Full Version : Lee classic cast turret .... ?

Digger
07-09-2012, 07:53 AM
Been using this great reloading toy pretty heavy for the last three years ... other than replacing the plastic bushing for the shaft on rare occasion , ,, has any one officially worn one of these out ? ... totally useless after so much abuse ? ...
As I was popping out a few .357 yesterday ... had some random thoughts on the machine .

digger

UNIQUEDOT
07-09-2012, 10:57 AM
I seldom use mine, but i seriously doubt you could wear one of these out.

dragonrider
07-09-2012, 12:04 PM
It's on my list of presses to aquire. Not that I need another press.

44Vaquero
07-09-2012, 12:55 PM
I have been reloading steadily on my aluminum based 3-hole for 15 years and it has not worn out yet! So my guess would have to "no you will not wear it out anytime soon".
Keep it clean and oiled and it will just keep chugging away.

joec
07-09-2012, 02:44 PM
I also suggest you don't get half way up the twisted part then change direction, that seems to shorten their life.

geargnasher
07-09-2012, 05:12 PM
Seeing as how the primer grit is isolated from the ram lubricant, I think the only other things you'd ever wear out would be consumables like the ratchet and turret lugs/indent grooves. I HAVE worn out the ram/base of an RCBS Ammomaster, they were happy to replace the parts for free, but it took me 20 years to finally wear it to the point the wobble was causing problems. If the primer residue didn't constantly grind away at the ram and base, it probably wouldn't have worn out.

Gear

Digger
07-09-2012, 09:55 PM
I also suggest you don't get half way up the twisted part then change direction, that seems to shorten their life.

Nope , always full stroke ....[smilie=f:
Whoa ! there Gearnasher .... hope you got your money's worth by now ......

zuke
07-09-2012, 10:10 PM
Been using a LEE 3 hole turret as my main press for a good 25 year's and it's still going strong

DanWalker
07-09-2012, 10:11 PM