PDA

View Full Version : Help needed for bluing formula.

oly730
07-05-2012, 11:11 AM
Hi everybody,

I am from Indonesia and new in this forum.

I do need your help for home made bluing salt formulas either hot as well cold bluing process. Or where can I find them.
There are some suppliers for bluing salts but mostly from USA like Brownells, Caswell, Birchwood etc. But it will be way way too expensive to ship them to Indonesia from USA.
So the feasible way is to make them by myself providing I have the formula/recipes and direction to use.

Please be specific with the measurement say fluid oz or Avoidupois oz or just ounce as we in Indonesia using metric measurement so it will be easier for me to convert them if I know exactly what are they.

Please do help me, I do need these to renew my .177 BSA Airsporter.

Thanks a lot.

375RUGER
07-05-2012, 12:40 PM
I have no experience with either but here are 2 recipes to start. I'm sure someone will pipe in with first hand experience soon.

http://www.dogcreek.ca/Bluing/bluing_salts.htm

Place in following solution for 15 minutes:
Copper sulphate 1/2 oz.
Iron Chloride 1 lb.
Hydrochloric acid 4 oz.
Nitric acid 1/2 oz.
Water 1 gallon

Then allow to dry for several hours; place in above solution again for 15 minutes; remove and dry for 10 hours. Place in boiling water for 1/2 hour; dry and scratch brush very lightly. Oil with mineral or linseed oil and wipe dry.

oly730
07-05-2012, 10:39 PM
I have no experience with either but here are 2 recipes to start. I'm sure someone will pipe in with first hand experience soon.

Copper sulphate 1/2 oz.
Iron Chloride 1 lb.
Hydrochloric acid 4 oz.
Nitric acid 1/2 oz.
Water 1 gallon

Then allow to dry for several hours; place in above solution again for 15 minutes; remove and dry for 10 hours. Place in boiling water for 1/2 hour; dry and scratch brush very lightly. Oil with mineral or linseed oil and wipe dry.

Thanks 375RUGER,

Is that hot or cold bluing?