PDA

View Full Version : Making your own - Casting Slugs and 380

fishindad
07-02-2012, 10:39 AM
I have been trying to getting into casting for some time now. Recently, through some acquisitions I have started making my own jigs and bullets. I have been collecting supplies for about 2-3 years now and finally had the right things to start. Its hard to believe that I bought the lead pot frankly almost 3 years ago from Cabelas.

MANY thanks goto this site and the folks here. I have been a "luker" for a while now and hope my "newbie" experiences help others. I will be reloading these sometime next week. The bullet molds used were the 1oz 12 gauge Lee and the 102 gr Lee 356-102-1R.

Safety is key. Here are the big ones...
1) Good ventilation. Use a cross blowing fan.
2) Wear gloves, jeans or apron and covered shoes.
3) Water is BAD. Do not let water come near the melted lead.
4) Do NOT eat or drink while you are doing this.
5) Wash your hands well after touching ANY lead. Frankly, we should all do this after even touching slip sinkers.
6) Be organized. You don't want to be running back and forth trying to find something and leave the lead unattended.

**** These are suggestions. Anyone doing this should do alot of research and ask alot of questions.

Ok with the above disclaimers..... Here we go. Overall I really enjoyed it. I acquired lead through various sources, made ingots and was ready to go.

First step: Melt the lead.

I had a thermometer and the spout seemed to work best at setting it 5-6 which was about 600 degrees. I put about 5 small ingots in and let it all melt. That took about 15 minutes.

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-lTnt1vz25Ow/T_Gfnajd6pI/AAAAAAAAGpo/Jx__vlfGf-U/s640/20120630_125838.jpg

Second step: Mix the lead and skim impurities.